Welcome to the official website of the Supreme Court of Belize.

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Belize is located at the corner of Regent Street and Treasury Lane, Belize City, Belize, Central America.

The Supreme Court of Belize is established as a superior court of record under sections 94 and 95 of the Constitution. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction to hear and determine any civil or criminal proceedings under any law. The Court also hears and determines any appeals arising from any decision of an inferior court. There are currently 8 Judges of the Supreme Court including the Chief Justice.

The Supreme Court sits in its Civil Division in Belize City and in three Districts sits in its criminal jurisdiction namely:

1. The Northern District (comprising the Districts of Corozal and Orange Walk);

2. The Central District (comprising the Districts of Belize City and Cayo) ;

3. The Southern District (comprising the Districts of Stann Creek and Toledo).

The administration of the Supreme Court of Belize is directed by the Chief Justice and the Registrar General.

The Supreme Court of Belize strives to operate under the following mandates set out under its vision and mission statements:

Leave a Reply